Yes. There is no residency requirement to marry in California. If my partner and I are from another state and marry in California, will our marriage be valid in our home state? If you live in another state and get married in California, you will be legally married.
Can I get married in California if I live in another state?
Non-US citizens can obtain a marriage license just like citizens; there are no extra requirements in California. However, for the marriage to be legal and recognized in your country of residence you will need to comply with any local laws and requirements.
Do you have to be a resident of California to get married in California?
You don’t have to be a resident to obtain a marriage license in California, therefore anyone can wed in the state. Your license is valid for 90 days from the date it is issued and it can only be used for wedding ceremonies in California. … There is no waiting period in California.
Does California recognize out of state marriages?
The State of California recognizes marriages that are validly made in other states or foreign jurisdictions, as long as the marriage would be recognized in that jurisdiction. … Consider speaking with a California family law attorney if you need legal assistance or have additional questions about California marriage law.
Is a marriage in one state valid in another?
One state’s marriage license in itself has no legal validity in another state. However, most marriages performed in the United States are recognized across the country, as long as they do not violate federal or state laws.
What state is the easiest to get married in?
So the easiest places to get married are Alabama, Colorado, Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Montana, New Hampshire, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Utah and Washington, D.C. These places recognize common law marriage, which means that you and your spouse are a legally married couple …
What is a confidential marriage in California?
A CONFIDENTIAL marriage license requires both parties to be living together prior to applying for the license. The license allows you to have the ceremony anywhere within the State of California and witnesses are not required during the ceremony.
Do you need witnesses to get married in California?
Effective 1/01/15 – The couple may be married in any county in California. No witnesses are required to be at the ceremony, AND no witnesses sign on the marriage license. The marriage license is a confidential record and is registered at the County Clerk’s Office in the county where it was purchased.
Who can officiate a wedding in California?
Section 400-402 of the California Family Code states that any “authorized person of any religious denomination” may officiate a wedding, including those who have received authorization via the Internet from religious groups.
How can you find out if someone is married in California?
In addition to conducting searches online, marriage records can be obtained by contacting the Vital Records department of the California Department of Public Health. It maintains public records of marriages that occurred between July 1905 to 2000 and from 2008 till present.
How long do you have to live together in California to be considered married?
You can live together for one year or 20 years, but unless you meet very specific criteria you won’t be considered married by common law.
Does California recognize domestic partnerships?
No. While California generally treats registered domestic partners and married couples equally in terms of rights and responsibilities, the federal government does not always treat registered domestic partners the same as spouses for legal or tax purposes.
At what point are you legally married in California?
California marriage licenses are only valid for 90 days, so you must obtain your marriage license within the 90 days immediately prior to your wedding date. No blood test is required. There is no waiting period. The clerk will give you your license immediately.