What documents do I need to get married in Michigan?

What do you need to get a marriage license in Michigan? Interested parties must apply with a certified copy of their birth certificate, a valid driver’s license, state ID, or passport, or in some cases, two of the four, depending on your county.

How do you get married at the courthouse in Michigan?

In order to get married in Michigan, couples must apply in person, with current valid driver’s license or state I.D. to obtain a marriage license from the County Clerk of the COUNTY in which either applicant resides. The marriage license fee is $20.00 for residents of Michigan. $30 for non-residents.

Can you get married the same day in Michigan?

DO NOT APPLY MORE THAN 33 DAYS BEFORE YOUR WEDDING DATE. In order to WAIVE the THREE-DAY WAITING PERIOD, you must fill out a waiver and pay an ADDITIONAL $10.00. Once this process is completed, you will receive your marriage license ON THE SAME DAY YOU APPLY. The license is ONLY VALID in the STATE OF MICHIGAN.

IT IS AMAZING:  You asked: How much money can you receive as a gift 2020?

How long does it take to get marriage license Michigan?

How long does it take to get the license? Michigan has a mandatory three day waiting period so you must wait at least three days after filing the application before you can pick up the license at the County Clerk’s office.

Can I get married online in Michigan?

Apply. Online Marriage License Application, save a trip to the Clerk’s Office by applying online or download a Marriage License Application (PDF). Applications are also available in-person at County Clerk’s Office. Social Security Numbers: You must provide social security numbers for both applicants.

Can you get married the same day you apply for a marriage license?

Marriage license applications are issued the same day as requested as long as all requirements are met. But there is a 3-day waiting period to be married for couples who live in Florida but do not provide proof that they have completed a premarital preparation course.

What do you need to get married at the courthouse?

Courthouse wedding checklist

  1. Valid photo identification (i.e., passport, driver’s license, or other government-issued ID)
  2. End date and other details about previous marriages.
  3. Birth certificate.
  4. Proof of residency.

What is the average cost of a wedding in Michigan?

Michigan brides and grooms spent an average $24,799 on their weddings, according to costofwedding.com, an Arizona-based marketing website that collects and analyzes surveys of wedding couples. The U.S. average was $26,720, said The Wedding Report Inc, which operates costofwedding.com.

Who can legally marry you in Michigan?

To perform marriage ceremonies a person should be an ordained minister, magistrate (a civil officer with power to administer and enforce law — Justice of the Peace), mayor of a Michigan city or a judge.

IT IS AMAZING:  Best answer: What is the basic objective of an assurance engagement?

What is a secret marriage in Michigan?

Secret marriages are called such because probate judges in the state are allowed to marry couples without making the record public if they provide the judge with what the judge considers good reason. Judges can authorize a retroactive date on such licenses.

Can you get a marriage license online?

You can begin the application process to receive a Marriage License online via “City Clerk Online”. This will speed up the process which then must be completed in person at the Office of the City Clerk. … You must wait a full 24 hours before your Marriage Ceremony can be performed unless you obtain a Judicial Waiver.

Can you backdate a marriage license in Michigan?

A couple must wait three days from the application before the license is granted, per Michigan law. … They can also backdate the license.

How much does it cost to get married at the courthouse in Detroit Michigan?

The marriage license fee is $20.00 for residents of Michigan. $30 for non-residents. There is a three-day waiting period after the application before the license may be issued and used. Michigan requires two witnesses (who must be at least 18 years of age).

Preparing for the wedding